Spookathon TBR: Frighteningly Awesome!

SPOOKATHON

Hey guys! I participated in Readathon by Zoe yesterday, but the Spookathon is nigh (it starts tomorrow, yikes!) so I thought I’d share my planned TBR with you! I’m super excited for this readathon and I am very pleased that there are only five prompts. I definitely think I can knock all of these out. 🙂 Let’s get into it, shall we?

Read a thriller-

25944462

Disclaimer has been sitting in my TBR pile for ages. I got a copy from Book Outlet because it looked fabulous, and thankfully, I’m still interested. I believe it’s about a woman who starts reading a book (that appeared on her nightstand) and is enthralled until she realizes it’s about her. I’m not really sure where this is going, but I’m definitely excited to find out!

Read a book with a spooky word in the title-

17563783

Cry Blue Murder has been on my Goodreads TBR for over a year, during which time I’ve been desperate to get my hands on it, and I’m not even really sure why. All I know about it at this point is that it’s supposed to be creepy, it’s told in an interesting format, and it’s by Australian authors. Also, there is quite possibly a missing person. Fingers crossed I like this one!

Read a book based on a childhood fear-

33984056

A Stranger in the House is actually the group book chosen by the hosts, so I definitely wanted to fit this in here somewhere! As a kid, I was definitely afraid of plenty of things, but one of the main things had to be someone watching me. As in, all the time. When there was no one around. i.e. stalking me. And although I know that’s not really the premise of this book, it definitely fits with “a stranger in the house”, so I think it falls under my not-too-wide umbrella. I’m not sure whether I’ll like this book; I’m semi-inexperienced with thrillers and haven’t ever read a domestic thriller, but I love creepy books and I’m willing to give it a shot. Here’s hoping I don’t hate it! 😉

Read a book with orange on the cover-

207034

I read the first two books in the City of Ember series quite a while ago (I wasn’t even on Goodreads at the time, so they’re not marked as read), but I really enjoyed them, so when I saw The Prophet of Yonwood in a used bookstore for a couple of dollars, I had to pick it up. Honestly, I’ve tried to get into it before (as an ebook), and I couldn’t get invested, so I’m not sure how this’ll go. It’s not a thriller, but it’s the orange-est book I own, and it’s short, so I thought I’d give it a try. I’m really hoping I’ll enjoy it!

Read a book with a spooky setting-

18659623

Through the Woods is a collection of short stories, so I am really hoping that at least one of them takes place in the woods! In any case, I believe this is a graphic novel of sorts, it’s been highly recommended, and it looks awesome. Bonus, it’s short. I’m super excited to get to this and I really hope it’ll speed my reading along!

And finally…

19364719

I’m already about halfway through Slasher Girls & Monster Boys, as I started it for a readathon a few months ago, but I had to return it to the library before I got a chance to finish it. I’m loving it so far, though, and this seems like the perfect time for some scary stories!


And that’s my TBR for the week! I’ve just checked, and all of these are around 200 or 300 pages, so I definitely think this is plausible. I think this is going to be super fun, and I’d love to hear if any of you are joining in! Let me know if you’ve read any of the books on my TBR (or plan to), or if you are joining in, what your TBR consists of! Good luck to us all! 😉

With love,

          Amy Lou ❤

8 thoughts on “Spookathon TBR: Frighteningly Awesome!

    1. Thank you!! Haha I loved the prompts, so of course I had to join in. 🙂
      Absolutely! Slasher Girls and Monster Boys is going well so far, and I read Through the Woods last night and it was FANTASTIC. The art style is gorgeous and the stories are chilling. The length is perfect too. 🙂

      Like

  1. Smart to pick books that clock at 200 to 300! It seems every hyped book I pick up lately is in excess of 400! I too read the first Ember but never got to a second? Before goodreads for me too alas! I’ll look for your Disclaimer review (so I hope you get to it) because that sounds so intriguing but I’m not up for it if it gets stupid… 👻 Good luck Amy! I hope you enjoy each one…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I totally agree. Books get longer and longer. Part of the reason I love Every Heart a Doorway so much (hello shameless plug) is because of its length. 😉
      I read the first two; the first was fabulous and the second was interesting but the third ended up being a huge letdown. So many dead-end plot holes.
      Yes, I’ll definitely talk about Disclaimer; if not in a review, at least in my wrap-up! I have plenty to say about it. 🙂
      Thanks! I had a pretty great week. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.